• Home
  • Presenters, Workshops & Plenaries

2018 Annual Meeting and Conference:

Planning for the Future of Public Health

April 18-20  |   The Gideon Putnam  |   Saratoga Springs, NY

Keynote Presenter:  Thursday, April 19th

Dr. Oxiris Barbot, MD

First Deputy Commissioner, New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

Dr. Barbot is an innovative public health influencer and pediatrician with over 20 years of experience in advancing equity and providing care to urban communities.  As First Deputy Commissioner of the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, the nation’s largest health department, Dr. Barbot oversees a diverse portfolio that encompasses health equity, health policy and operations.  Additionally, she oversees cross-cutting areas such as bridging gaps between the public health and healthcare delivery systems, as well as emergency preparedness and agency performance to ensure every community in NYC is a healthy community.  Dr. Barbot served as Commissioner of Health for Baltimore City from 2010 to 2014.

Pre-Conference Workshop Presenters:  April 18th

Dorothy Hill, BA, JD

Dorothy (Dede) Hill is Director of Policy for the Schuyler Center.  In this role, Dede coordinates the Schuyler Center’s policy team and conducts policy analysis and advocacy in the areas of family economic security and early care and learning.  Prior to joining the Schuyler Center, Dede was a Professor of Law at Albany Law School, where her teaching and scholarship focused on labor and employment law.  Dede previously practiced law as an Assistant Attorney General and Labor Counsel for the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, an Assistant Solicitor General for the New York State Attorney General’s Office, and as an associate for a New York City labor law firm.  Dede earned a J.D. from the University of Wisconsin Law School, where she was a member of the Wisconsin Law Review, and a Bachelor of Arts from Vassar College.

Check back as additional presenters and workshops are announced.

Click here to return to the Annual Meeting main page.

© New York State Public Health Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software